2016 Hamerton Service Award


Members of the CCMG who have made outstanding contributions in the area of service to the College will be considered. The Dr. John L. Hamerton Service Award is conferred in recognition of services, diligently rendered to the CCMG over a reasonable period of time, that allowed the development and the maintenance of the tradition of excellence of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists. More information is available here. Past recipients arelisted here.

This year, the award is presented to:
Marsha Speevak, PhD, FCCMG

Laboratory Geneticist, The Credit Valley Hospital, Mississauga, ON

Following a nearly 20 year career as a cytogenetic technologist, Dr. Speevak entered into a PhD program at the University of Ottawa in 1991 under the supervision of Dr. Mario Chevrette. She obtained her PhD from the Department of Biochemistry in 1996 and immediately entered into a clinical molecular and cytogenetics post-doctoral training program under the mentorship of Dr. Linda Suhr, Dr. Robert Korneluk and Dr. HungShu Wang. She obtained CCMG certification in Molecular Genetics and Cytogenetics in 1998. Dr. Speevak is a laboratory geneticist at The Credit Valley Hospital in Mississauga, Ontario, where she co-directs the Peel regional combined molecular. cytogenetics and microarray laboratories. Her past professional activities include Chair, Examinations Committee (CCMG, 2002-2006), and elected Genetics representative for the Training and Education Committee for the Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP, 2006-2007) and CCMG Secretary (2008-2012). She is also a fellow of the American College of Medical Genetics (FACMG).